Team Leader

Soohyon Phark

Soo-hyon is now working as the leader of the research team of Scanning Tunneling Microscopy (STM) for Atomic Scale Quantum Manipulation in QNS. His major has been STM studies on surface nanostructures of oxides/metal, perovskite materials, graphene, and magnetic nanostructures at UHV and low temperature throughout his research careers. In particular, he experienced spin-polarized STM/S of magnetic nanostructures, such as bilayer Co and Fe nanoislands on Cu, and studied spin-resolved electronic structures of ferromagnets and non-collinear spin orders confined in nanostructures.
PhD in Physics, Seoul National University, Korea
BS in Physics, Chonnam National University, Korea
2016 - Current
Research Professor at Center for Quantum Nanoscience(QNS), Institute for Basic Science(IBS), Ewha Womans University, Seoul, Korea
2015 - 2016
Research Fellow, Korea Researcher Institute of Standards and Science
2014 - 2015
Research Fellow, Center for Correlated Electron Systems (CCES) of IBS
2010 - 2014
Postdoc, Max-Planck- Institute of Microstructure Physics, Germany
2009 - 2010
Research Professor, Ewha Womans University
2006 - 2009
Postdoc, Seoul National University
Yu Wang, Masahiro Haze, Hong T. Bui, We-hyo Soe, Herve Aubin, Arzhang Ardavan, Andreas J. Heinrich & Soo-hyon Phark (2023)
Read More
Kai Yang, Soo-Hyon Phark, Yujeong Bae, Taner Esat, Philip Willke, Arzhang Ardavan, Andreas J. Heinrich & Christopher P. Lutz, Nature Communication (2021)
Read More
Kai Yang, William Paul, Soo-Hyon Phark, Philip Willke, Yujeong Bae, Taeyoung Choi, Taner Esat, Arzhang Ardavan, Andreas J. Heinrich, Christopher P. Lutz, Science (2019)
Read More
Jeison A. Fischer, Leonid M. Sandratskii, Soo-hyon Phark, Dirk Sander, and Stuart Parkin, Physical Review B 2017
Read More