Lead Researcher

Luciano Colazzo

Dr. Luciano Colazzo is a researcher at the IBS Center for Quantum Nanoscience, engaged in the field of nanotechnology and quantum chemistry. He was awarded an independent research grant, the IBS Young Scientist Fellowship and as of late 2021, he is the lead researcher for the “On-Surface Quantum Chemistry” project. His research focuses on the on-surface synthesis of molecular qubit arrays, by enforcing a multidisciplinary approach that encompasses quantum mechanics, molecular chemistry, and surface sciences.
"We are gaining the knowledge; science is giving us that.
Now we need wisdom as well." 

- Isaac Asimov, A short history of Chemistry (1979)

2014 - 2017
PhD in Molecular Sciences (Chemistry), Graduate School of Molecular Sciences, University of Padova - Italy
2010 - 2013
MS in Chemistry, University of Padova - Italy
2007 - 2010
BS in Chemistry, University of Padova - Italy
2018 - Current
Research Professor at Center for Quantum Nanoscience(QNS), Institute for Basic Science(IBS), Ewha Womans University, Seoul, Korea

IBS Young Scientist Fellowship
2017 - 2018
Donostia International Physics Center (DIPC) - Spain, Post-doctoral Fellowship
Nanoscience Cooperative Research Center (CIC nanoGUNE) - Spain, Guest Researcher
2013 - 2017
Institute of Condensed Matter ICMATE (CNR) and University of Padova - Italy, Graduate Scholarship
S. Reale, A. Singha, S. L. Ahmed, D. Krylov, L. Colazzo, C. Wolf, C. S. Casari, A. Barla, E. Fernandes, F. Patthey, M. Pivetta, S. Rusponi, H. Brune, and F. Donati (2023)
Read More
Aparajita Singha, Daria Sostina, Christoph Wolf, Safa L. Ahmed, Denis Krylov, Luciano Colazzo, Pierluigi Gargiani, Stefano Agrestini, Woo-Suk Noh, Jae-Hoon Park, Marina Pivetta, Stefano Rusponi, Harald Brune, Andreas J. Heinrich, Alessandro Barla, and Fabio Donati (2021)
Read More
Soyeong Kwon, Dong Yeun Jeong, Weon-Sik Chae, Kyungju Noh, P. Devi, Luciano Colazzo, Youngmin You, Taeyoung Choi & Dong-Wook Kim (2021)
Read More
Mohammed S. G. Mohammed, Luciano Colazzo, Roberto Robles, Ruth Dorel, Antonio M. Echavarren, Nicolás Lorente and Dimas G. de Oteyza, Communications Physics (2020)
Read More
Mohammed S. G. Mohammed, Luciano Colazzo, Aurelio Gallardo, Jose´ A. Pomposo, Pavel Jelınek and Dimas G. de Oteyza, Chemical Communications (2020)
Read More
Néstor Merino-Díez, Mohammed S. G. Mohammed, Jesús Castro-Esteban, Luciano Colazzo, Alejandro Berdonces-Layunta, James Lawrence, J. Ignacio Pascual, Dimas G. de Oteyza and Diego Peña, Chemical Science (2020)
Read More
Luciano Colazzo, Mohammed S. G. Mohammed, Aurelio Gallardo, Zakaria M. Abd El-Fattah, José A. Pomposo, Pavel Jelínek, and Dimas G. de Oteyza (2019)
Read More